Anti-poaching, Community Development, Research & GIS Mapping – Tanzania

Meet one of the true stars behind FCF!

Image

We thought it would be fun to profile a few FCF employees over the coming months so we can all get to know them. Meet Aurelia, the Administration Officer for FCF!

What’s your full name?

Ms. Aurelia Klassarah Mtui

Where are you from?

Born and raised in Arusha. My parents are originally from Marungu on the slopes of Mt Kilimanjaro.

What was your professional experience before FCF?

I finished high school in 1997 and joined the College of African Wildlife Management Mweka for three years, then worked for a Safari company as a Reservations Manager.

Please tell us about your family:

I am the first born in a family of six. Now I am married and have been blessed with two lovely girls, Aida 3 years old, and Karima, 1 year old.

What is your favorite thing about living in Arusha?

The weather. It is never too hot or too cold.

Tell us about your best travel experience:

I could say every time when we traveled for fieldwork while at the College of African Wildlife Management Mweka. I was at the college for three years and every time we went out for fieldwork was a new experience. I got to see so much of Tanzania, places I had never seen before. But the most exiting one was when we were on foot carrying out animal count on the floor of the Ngorongoro Crater. Just the thought of walking in the crater was unbelievable, despite the tick bites I enjoyed myself! Before the end of the count we got chased by a female elephant. It took a while to gather everyone on to the truck. Luckily no one was hurt.

What is your greatest passion(s)?

My Family and my job

What is your favorite animal?

The elephant

Which FCF project you are most excited about?

The Dog Project. [In December 2011, FCF got new tracker dogs, trained to assist with anti-poaching efforts. They are providing a tremendous lift to our anti-poaching effort in the field!] 

Comments are closed.